May 1st, 2004

Celebration Candles


EU Celebrations

Congratulations to the 10 new countries who joined the European Union at midnight tonight!
Those new countries are:- Malta, Cyprus (Greek Owned Part), Estonia, Latvia, Czech Republic, Lithuania, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia!

They join the current EU members who are:- Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg , The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

There is massive fear that tonnes of Eastern European people will flood to countries such as the UK, looking for work. I don't think that will happen. I have friends from a few poor Eastern countries, and most people who want work, are already working in the UK ;) I dunno, no one knows what will happen, but I am sure most people in the new member countries want to stay in their homes and hope for a better way of living, with more money and better jobs and to live in peace and unity.

It does mean all my Polish friends can travel freely here and no longer will have visa problems :)
  • Current Music
    Black Eyed Peas - Where is the Love?